History of AGRA – GCA

AGRA History

The Australian Greyhound Racing Association was formed in the 1960’s and was initially known as the Commonwealth Greyhound Racing Association.

Initially, the Association has a pre-dominant Eastern States focus but gradually moved toward a true national focus, changing its name to the Australian Greyhound Racing Association in the early 1970’s.

The Association played a significant role in the progression of rules, sponsorship and the early co-ordination of PayTV Rights negotiation.

In the main the Australian Greyhound Racing Association comprised its membership each of the principal racing bodies in Australia as follows:

  • Brisbane Greyhound Racing Club (Albion Park , Queensland).
  • Darwin Greyhound Association of the Northern Territory (Winnellie Park, Northern Territory).
  • Greyhound Racing SA (Angle Park, South Australia).
  • Greyhounds WA (Cannington, Western Australia).
  • Hobart Greyhound Racing Club (Hobart, Tasmania).
  • Launceston Greyhound Racing Club (Tasman Park, Tasmania).
  • Melbourne Greyhound Racing Association (The Meadows, Victoria).
  • NSW Greyhound Breeders, Owners & Trainers’ Association (Wentworth Park, Sydney).
  • NSW National Coursing Association (Wentworth Park, Sydney).
  • Sandown Greyhound Racing Club (Sandown Park, Victoria).

The Australian Greyhound Racing Association now meets for annual conferences in September of each year and seeks to promote and improve greyhound racing on a national basis. Major undertakings in any given year include the co-ordination of the Group Racing Calendar, the promotion of the Australian Greyhound of the Year and the staging of the National Sprint and Distance Championships.

In 2011/2012 AGRA determined to introduce Listed Events into the Group Race Calendar as from 2012/2013.

2017/2018 In a historic move The Australian Greyhound Racing Association became Greyhound Clubs Australia. A change in committee setup plus a new constitution was accepted and almost every club operating greyhound racing became a member of the newly formed body.